Menu Plan Monday – Sept 12, 2011

I did this on my old blog, but when I changed jobs and Mikey and I started working completely different schedules most days I got away from it.  The result was consuming more fast food.  Even though Mikey is leaving for training in a couple weeks, I’m going to try to continue planning weekly menus for myself.

We stocked the freezer before the baby,  so many of these will be freezer meals or have at least some elements from the freezer

Monday- Pesto Chicken Pizza–  we pull precut and seasoned chicken from our freezer for this.  For the chicken seasoning we use seasoning salt, pepper, a chili blend, a bit of onion, and garlic.  Once the chicken is thawed I just throw it in a pan on medium heat with some olive oil.  The chicken is also great in pastas, salads, etc.  For the pizza we pretty much follow this recipe minus the pinenuts (for costs sake)

Tuesday- Boneless Buffalo Wings and Fries-  We use THIS recipe for the breading and we usually play around with different sauces.  I think we’ll be making THIS sauce this time, it’s one of my favorites.
Wednesday- Lil Cheddar Meatloaves and Macaroni and cheese – I premake and freeze the meatloaves so all I have to do is pop those in the oven.  The mac and cheese is from a box- Central Market Whole Wheat Organic- so yummy and slightly healthier than the blue box

Thursday-  Spinach/Parmesan/Chicken Pasta- My own creation.  I cook up some whole wheat penne noodles (or any other noodles I  happen to have on hand), while the pasta is cooking I use a skillet and olive oil to cook some precut seasoned chicken.  Once everything is done I drain the pasta, pour it into the skillet with the chicken, add a cup or two of shredded Parmesan cheese and fresh spinach and mix it all together.  quick, easy, and somewhat healthy

Friday- Honey Garlic Crockpot Chicken w/ brown rice

Saturday- Lemon Chili Chicken– we have this ready in the freezer.  I’ve cooked it on the grill before and the bits that I could taste the flavor on were good, it just didn’t seem to hold the flavor very well.  I’m going to try cooking it in the crockpot this time and see how it turns out.  I will probably shred it and eat it over a bed of noodles or rice.

Sunday- free day

Though it may not appear so, we do eat veggies around here I usually do not include those in the plan as I really don’t think those out ahead of time.

I participate in Menu Plan Monday on http://orgjunkie.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

